Hello daffodils… Not just yet

A house with daffodils in it is a house lit up,
whether or no the sun be shining outside. 
A.A. Milne

Mini daffodils in a pot - 2 March 2015

Mini daffodils in a pot – 2 March 2015

It was horrible weather here at the weekend so I wasn’t out in the garden at all – which made me feel glum.  Instead, I’ve been thinking about positive things.  I’ve been waiting not so patiently for more bulbs to flower… not a lot is happening though. But every year is different in the garden, as well as in life.

Here are the same pots one year apart in exactly the same place – no sign of daffodils and a lot less crocuses this year than last year.

If I was a more organised person I’d have posted these pictures on 1st March – St David’s Day. Instead I’ll just wish you ‘Dydd Gwŷl Dewi Sant hapus’.

The Met Office have said it’s been the sunniest winter on record (but not in Manchester clearly – we are one of the grey areas on the Met Office maps) – News release.  It just goes to show how much I know, as I thought last winter 2013/14 was cold and wet and that it had been milder this winter.

Statistics matter.

I’d love to have a meteorological station in the garden, but I’d need it to email me the results as I’d forget to take the measurements every day.    I grew up in a town where people knew a lot about the weather so I’ve always been fascinated by this topic.

P.S. Don’t worry Yoda is still around… he’s been at the bottom of the garden at the moment.  He makes me smile everytime I see him.   I’ll write about Yoda and my other garden ornaments another time.

P.P.S. I gave in and bought a pot of tête a tête daffodils from a supermarket – A A Milne would approve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hello daffodils… Not just yet

  1. croftgarden

    Its a wet and windy day so I’m doing a virtual garden tour so I thought I’d peek over the garden fence and say hello.
    I think many of us are waiting for the spring to arrive and buying a pots of daffs is as good a way as any to bring some sunshine into the garden. Do plant your bulbs when they’ve flowered, TaT is a robust variety and always the first to flower in my garden. There are a few out now robustly defying the wind in a pot in a (relatively) sheltered corner.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Hi – thank you for popping by to my garden.
      Yes I’ve planted the blubs from bought pots and they’ve flowered for the next year. I plant alot of tAt but I know the squirrels dig them up so this year I’m going to hide some nettting… we’ll see how that goes. I hope you’ve had some more flower this week – i had a lot bloom in the garden yesterday as it was a lovely sunny day in Manchester. Guess what it’s raining at the moment.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. thetransmutationalgardener

    Spring is certainly a time of impatience for every gardener! I think my area has had the cloudiest and dreariest winter, if not on record then in most people’s memories. Thank you for following my blog. I’m enjoying yours now that I’ve discovered it!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Hi Anna – thank you for visiting my blog especially all the way from Texas. I hope you like it – I think there will be plenty of talk of weather and the rain though :-). It sounds like you have a really tricky place to garden – I’ll pop over to have a look how you’re getting on. Have a lovely day love Bec

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      I’m glad you liked yoda – my chap bought him for me a couple of years ago from a garden centre near Blackburn – he always makes me smile especially if I’m having a bad day.
      The weather was cold and wet here on Monday – sunny and warm yesterday and it’s throwing down at the moment… typical Manchester weather.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

