In a vase on Monday – tête a tête daffodils and mini iris

Tête a tête daffodils and mini iris - 16th March 2015

Tête a tête daffodils and mini iris – 16th March 2015

Here’s my first in a Vase on a Monday.  They’re tête a tête daffodils and one dwarf iris. I don’t know the variety I’m afraid.  I bought the bulbs in Wilko last year; they’re a northern chain rapidly spreading south who sell all sorts of things, a bit like Woolworth’s did in the 1970s.  They have a really good garden section so do pop in if you’re local and have a look around. The bulbs were planted in a trough in the garden last autumn, which you can see in the distance, and have spent all winter outside.   Apologies for not finding a better background but I took these photos in a hurry before rushing out to work this morning – it’s a peek into my garden too.  Not much going on at the moment.

Mini Daffodils and Iris - 16 March 2015

Mini Daffodils and Iris – 16 March 2015

The vase got a lot of use last summer with Sweet peas from the garden – I have a feeling it will be getting a lot of use this year too.   It was a gift from my chap and is only about 7 inches high – I did wonder about putting navy ribbon around it but I wasn’t sure if it would be too over the top. What do you think? I’m very lucky as my chap works in the florist industry (wholesale – everything except the flowers basically).   So I have a lot of vases – they’re a lot bigger though.  I hope you get to see some of the vases on a Monday – just hope I can grow enough suitable flowers. He buys me flowers often – yes I know I’m a very lucky –  think he enjoys the flowers as much as I do and he knows more about flower arranging than me for sure. If you want to see more ‘In a vase on Monday’ have a look at Cathy from https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/ – it’s all about picking flowers growing in your garden and displaying them in a vase on a Monday – simple really assuming you’ve got something flowering.  She’s got some gorgeous purple hyacinths today.  I’ve got a few hyacinths growing in the front garden so lets see how they turn out.  They’re nowhere near flowering though.  I’m enjoying seeing what everyone else has picked and all the pretty vases.   I loved these purple crocuses in the mini bottle vases from Gwirrel’s garden today too.  It’s good fun looking around other people’s blogs to see how their flowers are coming along.  Such alot of variety of when the daffodils and crocuses are coming up. Elsewhere in the garden, the hellebore is flowering, lots of yellow and purple crocuses as well as some really amazing double head mini daffodils – so fingers crossed I can find something pretty for next Monday.

12 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – tête a tête daffodils and mini iris

  1. MrsGlade

    Awww!! This is a lovely idea! I always have flowers in the house but have to buy them myself ha! I can’t take part because I don’t have any flowers to cut in the garden. Your Iris are a beautiful vivid blue and don’t they go beautifully with the yellow daffodils?! I think I spy the sun at the bottom of your garden, we have not seen it at all today x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thanks – yes the iris is lovely isn’t it? there are some lovely photos from other people (and great vases too). Nearly time to plant summer bulbs so you can join in later on in the year 🙂 It was sunny early doors here then clouded over…

      Like

      Reply
  2. Katy

    Beautiful! Hope I’ll be able to pick something from our garden this year – nothing out yet! Not a fan of ribbon, love the simplicity without!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Christina

    A very pretty vase, you can’t beat spring flowers! I think a dark blue ribbon might look good; I never have time to do props as well as flowers but enjoy when others do. Do share details of your chap’s business if he sells via the net. thanks for following my blog, I look forward to hearing from you often and seeing your collection of vases, Christina

    Like

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    That’s a useful chap to have!! That’s a great vase – such a slender shape, and ideal for daffs. A ribbon…hmm….I like the idea of the blue, and yes, a big blousy blue ribbon would celebrate how special the first spring flowers are, or perhaps a strip of dark blue card around the bottom of the vase …. or blue props….the world’s your oyster!! It’s such fun to think out of the box 🙂 It’s lovely to have you on board, Bec – see you next week?

    Like

    Reply
  5. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – not blue anymore | Views from my garden bench

  6. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday -friends, flowers and the future – it’s never too late | Views from my garden bench

  7. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Love, fire and dermination | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

