In a Vase on Monday: yellow and purple in bottles

Here is my ‘In a vase on Monday’ with tête a tête daffodils making a re-appearance;  this time with a pansy (with Yoda). I hope you like it?

Daffodils, mini milkbottles a pansy and Yoda too

Daffodils, mini milk bottles a pansy and Yoda too – 23 March 2015

Cathy over at https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/ hosts this weekly challenge to pick and display flowers from your garden in a vase.  This week she’s got sweet william, tulips and some aquilegia.  I think it’s a lovely natural posy and a great vase too.

I’d seen Gwirrel’s garden using mini milk bottles with crocuses and Cathy use mini milk bottles in a crate a couple of weeks ago – with Hellibores – Don’t they look great?

It was pouring with rain this morning in Manchester but I had my eye on a few flowers around the garden and was hopeful I could do something with my milk bottle set.  I nipped out when I got home from work and picked these flowers.   It was fairly sunny when I took these photos but I definitely needed the flash to see the colours properly.

Here’s the arrangement on my mantlepiece in my lounge.

Tete a tete daffodils, a pansy and mini milkbottles - 23 March 2015

Tete a tete daffodils, a pansy and mini milk bottles – 23 March 2015

It’s a great idea #In a vase on Monday and I hope I can find some flowers for next week – I don’t have a greenhouse so we’ll see what’s flowered.   It’s fascinating seeing which plants are flowering, who’s got flowers growing in their greenhouses and also who’s gardening in more extreme conditions than here in a small suburban garden in Manchester.

Have you had a go this week? I’d love to see what you’ve done.

11 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: yellow and purple in bottles

    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – my chap bought yoda for me a couple of years ago – hes about a foot tall and v heavy… he moves round the garden 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you very much – I’ve got more pansies about to flower so fingers crossed for next week. Yes yoda is great – a gift from my chap. He moves around the garden too.

      Like

      Reply
  1. MrsGlade

    They are lovely, so spring like and the pansy is a great addition. The milk bottle idea is fab, I love the idea of things being re-used even if it was really bought for the job. I have had difficulties picking my bulbs but thought I had narrowed it to your suggestion and Iris’s, when it was pointed out that we are inundated with squirrels. So I think I might buy them and put them in pots, then I thought, I can bring them in for Winter rather than dig them up! X

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    I like these mini bottles in the basket too – as you say, Gwirrel has used these but I have not come across them to buy (yet…). It is so simple to pop a flower or two in each and they look so effective. This is so pretty and will give you lots of pleasure, I am sure. Don’t forget it doesn’t have to be flowers – it could be twigs or grasses or fruit. The more you look around the garden with a vase or container in mind the more potential you will see – that’s why it has become such an enjoyable challenge. Photographing the vases often proves to be a challenge for those of us not especially experienced in photography – I now tend to take my vases outside where possible as the light will always be better. Thanks for joining in and see you again soon!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – dahlias and happiness | Views from my garden bench

  4. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – Love, fire and dermination | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

