In a vase on Monday – pinks, purples, white and yellow and a bit of crystal

crystal vase with potentilla, anemone, wallflower, pergolonium and kale - 8 June 2015

crystal vase with potentilla, anemone, wallflower, pergolonium and kale – 8 June 2015

The sun has been out today in Manchester and I’ve been planting some of the plants we bought at Bodnant Gardens yesterday.

Here’s my ‘In a vase on Monday’ which is hosted every week by Cathy over at Rambling in the Garden. She’s got lovely roses and alot of pink and white in her vase today.  I’m going to try growing sweet william next year.  My sweet peas are nowhere near flowering but are growing well so fingers crossed.
Do have a look and join in if you can.
I enjoy everyone’s links and flowers so much – they are so creative.

This week, I’ve included:

  • White Potentilla – Abbotswood (I saw the same bush at Bodnant so now I know it’s name). This was one of the few shrubs in the garden when I moved here five years ago.
  • Pink Pelargonium (it’s survived being over wintered a couple of times so is quite big now)
  • scabiosa – ‘Pincushion plant’ – it’s new this year and it’s loving it’s location in the shady border
  • Anemone – another new arrival in the garden
  • Purple wall flower – this and the amemone are in the new border my Chap built last year at the front of the decking.  I think they both like the better quality soil.
  • Pericallis ‘Senetti’ I buy one or two of these plants every spring – you get alot of flowers for your money but I can’t get them to over winter.  Other colours include white/vivid pink, white/purple and various vivid pinks – don’t forget to dead head them for more flowers.
  • The yellow flowers are from a purple curly leaved kale.
  • close up - 8 June 2015

    close up – 8 June 2015

The vase is a small lead-crystal vase (about 10 inches high) which belonged to the mother of my good friend who died recently. She told me years ago it was a wedding present (1964)  but I never saw flowers in it in all the time I knew her; just loose change.   It has a smaller ‘sister’ vase which I found in a cupboard at my friends house. His Mum passed away about 18months ago and his Dad just three weeks later.

It’s good to use the vase for this arrangement as it would have been his mum’s birthday this week. I’ll be using both these vases regularly now and think of J and her lovely white country garden rose in her yard garden (just about the only plant there!).  I took a picture of the vases as Cathy asked about my last vase.  They’re really pretty but very heavy.

image

My orange rose in the front garden has one rose out and alot more buds, so fingers crossed it will feature next week.

What have you got flowering with you?

love

Bec

xx

11 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – pinks, purples, white and yellow and a bit of crystal

    1. Bec Post author

      thank you – it’s a really vivid purple – that’s the senetti – it’s a great plant which flowers all summer just needs deadheading…:-)

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      I’ll try and use the vases as often as I can – especially as it’s spent at least 40 years full of pennies. I’ve never owned any crystal vases before but I will remind me of Ju – a lovely lady.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Donna@Gardens Eye View

    I love using my cut crystal vases all of which I got as wedding presents. Your arrangement is beautiful Bec and I love that you used kale flowers as they are so pretty and a wonderful pale yellow perfect against the bright other colors.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kris P

    Very pretty. Using items like this vase are such a nice way to add an additional dimension to a floral arrangement. I love seeing Anemone again – those are long gone from my garden in southern California. My Pericallis is still in bloom, though, so our climates are in sync on that score.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    How have things been, Bec? I have been thinking about you… It’s good to be using these vases which have a connection with your friend, and what an unusual shape they are. I have seen the Senetti advertised each year in catalogues but never thought to use it, but this one in particular is such a striking colour – do you get it as plugs, and do you grow it in pots or a bed? It forms a great focal point and the others colours balance it out nicely. I have been growing on some plugs of scabious form Hayloft, something that for some reason has never grown successfully before – but hopefully this year…! Thanks for sharing today

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

