In a vase on Monday – red, white and blue (and purple)

Denby - Boston jug - sweetpeas, petunias, geraniums - 6 July 2015

Denby – Boston jug – sweetpeas, petunias, geraniums – 6 July 2015

This week’s theme is red, white and blue (and purple) because Wimbledon is going well for Andy Murray and his brother Jamie, the sun is shining in SW19 and also in honour of American Independence Day.  Hope all my American readers enjoyed their 4th July celebrations.

Today it’s a mini vase.  The flowers are:

  • First sweetpeas from the plants growing by my south facing front door (it’s the pink/white candy coloured one) and some white ones too – the scent is drifting through the house. Even though there are only three flowers in the posy.
  • A bright scarlet geranium from the hanging basket at the front of the house– no idea what variety as it came in a mixed set from B&Q – it’s got a darker brown stem and flowers though.
  • Also some white geranium flowers from a big plant that’s been overwintered a couple of times in the garage.
  • And some purple and white petunias (which was the closest I could get to stripes). They’re growing in a trough down on the decking with the bistro chairs – with a lot of purple, pink and white flowers.

It was at this point I realised the only blue flowers I had in the garden that hadn’t gone over, were trailing lobelia, with just the odd flower, so they didn’t work at all well in the vase as they kept falling out.  There’s probably some special florists trick I should have used ;-).  I really must remember to plant some more blue flowers next year.

Denby - Boston jug - sweetpeas, petunias, geraniums

Denby – Boston jug – sweetpeas, petunias, geraniums – 6 July 2015

Hence the blue vase – It is a ‘Denby Boston’ jug which I’ve had for over 20 years. When I first moved to Manchester my mum would arrive for visits with a few pieces of Denby tucked under her arm.   The plates and bowls have a blue rim and cream inside.  I still love them and have a large collection now and use them every day – not just ‘for best’.

If you look carefully, you’ll see the flowers are very wet; as it has been hurling down with rain in Manchester on and off this week.  Tricky to photograph too as it looked like Autumn out there. But at least my water butts are full up and I’ve only got to do minimal watering of baskets under the eaves and trees at the bottom of the garden.

I’ve only been to the US twice – once in 1990 for a scientific conference in Miami Beach and ten years ago with my mum who wanted to go whale watching in New England; we stayed in Plymouth and visited Boston too.  We saw very rare Wright whales – it was an amazing experience.   I’d love to go back but need to save up for a trip to Australia where my brother and family live in Melbourne – he and my sister in law were over in Boston and New York with her work which is very random indeed – and reminded me how much I liked America.

I think my chap and I need to plan more overseas travel adventures… it’s been a hard few months – so we’ll  be sitting at the bottom of the garden on the bistro chairs (Where I sit part 1) planning some trips – yoda will probably advise :-).

Do you have any suggestions for flower and gardening related trips in Europe or the US?

I want to go to Keukenhof (I love tulips) and also back to the Alhambra and visit some of those incredible Italian villa gardens.

And as usual I’m late to the party (I’ve been very busy and energy levels are very low this week).  Do have a look at all the lovely vases hosted by Cathy over on Rambling in the Garden. Anyone can join in – I enjoy looking at everyone’s vases very much and it gives me such a lot of ideas for my garden.

Have a wonderful week, enjoy the tennis (come on Andy) and I hope you have sunshine where you are and I’m hoping the weather improves here.

Carpe Diem

Love Bec xx

19 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – red, white and blue (and purple)

  1. Eliza Waters

    Lovely jug – such a pretty blue! Blue in the garden is hard to come by, isn’t it? Forget-me-nots and delphinium come to mind. I love D. chinensis, but it is so short-lived.
    Gardens in the US? Soo many to choose from! Depends on where you travel N,S, E or W. If you do a search ‘best gardens in X’ that would narrow the field. Outstanding ones I know of are: Brooklyn Botanical (NYC), Chicago Botanical, Missouri Botanical (St. Louis), Coastal Maine Bot., Mendocino Coast (CA), Golden Gate Park (San Fran.,CA), Denver Botanical (CO), Portland Japanese Garden (Oregon) and Fairchild Tropical (Miami, FL). Just a few – there are thousands!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thanks eliza – my delphiniums have been munched by slugs or something ( 😦 ) so i’m not sure if they’ll recover this year… oh thank you for the advice about botanical gardens – I’ve started a list 🙂 and will investigate 🙂 hope you have a lovely week and the sun shines

      Like

      Reply
      1. Bec Post author

        cant stand them – I’ve had a lot of trouble this year but didn’t so much last year when it was wetter… ho hum…

        Like

      2. Eliza Waters

        I use an all natural German product called ‘Sluggo” that works best applied early in the season when there isn’t much to eat and the slugs are just emerging. It has to be reapplied after rain and isn’t as effective once things have grown up. I’ve done cans of beer (clean up isn’t pleasant) and handpicking into salt cans (ick) – despicable creatures all around… what was God thinking? 😉

        Like

  2. mjarz

    Bec, what a nice newsy post! Eliza is right, there are many wonderful gardens here in the U.S. as a St Louisan I am quite partial to the Missouri Botanical Gardens and its Wonderful sites…the Missouri Botanical Garden in the heart of St. Louis, the Shaw Nature Reserve, west of the city and the Sophie Sachs Butterfly House in the suburbs. I am going to be in the Netherlands in October. Too late for the tulips but I am told the Dutch have something lovely to look at all year. I do hope so.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thanks Noelle – glad you liked the posy – I don’t quite get keeping things like china ‘for best’ my parents used their wedding cutlery for sunday lunch every week 🙂 Thanks for the info about harlem – it looks a lovely town 🙂 I think the chap and I should go on a trip to Netherlands next year – I really love tulips 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Kerri

    Visiting gardens and things is my favourite thing to do when travelling! I went to the Keukenhof this year (if you’re interested, I’ll link my blog post (or two – since I took so many photos…) http://www.crumbsinthebed.com/2015/04/keukenhof-gardens-tulip-fields-leiden-netherlands.html & http://www.crumbsinthebed.com/2015/06/keukenhof-gardens-tulip-fields-netherlands.html) – If you don’t care, no worries 😉

    I’m a big fan of trying to find nature everywhere we travel too 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Jess

    Such a gorgeous arrangement! I so wish I bought flowers into my flat more often because I stumble on posts like this and think about how brighter my lil place would be. It really did look like autumn in Manchester, didn’t it? Ah well, at least blooms like this brighten up the place!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you 🙂 i’m glad you liked them – if it cheers you up just buy a little bunch from a supermarket or local florist 🙂 i’ve just bought myself some frescias which smell wonderful (can’t get them to grow in the garden ;-( – )
      lowers definitely brighten my mood 🙂 Glorious sunshine in Manchester today – lovely 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. oldfashionedsus

    Ah this is a lovely idea! I often take cuttings of flowers from the garden to stop them getting ruined in the Manchester rain.
    X

    Like

    Reply
  6. oldfashionedsus

    What a beautiful idea- I often take flower cuttings from the garden so the don’t get ruined by the manchester rain!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      It is isn’t it? you’d be very welcome to join in – it doesn’t have to be every week, lots of the people involved are far from expert gardeners – and everyone is very helpful. It’s also a good way of remembering what’s growing in your garden too 🙂 have a good weekend love bec xx

      Like

      Reply
  7. Cathy

    Sorry for my late comment, Bec. Hope your week was more relaxing than expected and that the tennis result has not got you down 😦 The Denby jug is perfect for its red, white and blue contents and it was so topical for the week. I think I will aim for some white geraniums next year after seeing yours.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – white, purple, aquamarine and John Rylands too | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

