In a vase on Monday – not blue anymore

Don’t be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs. Every time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger.   If you do the little jobs well, the big ones will tend to take care of themselves.  Dale Carnegie

three hydrangea 'blue mophead' - three blooms in pink/green - 13 July 2015

hydrangea flowers ‘blue mophead’ – three blooms in pink/green – 13 July 2015

This week I’ve been thinking about how things don’t turn out quite the way you expect; this is one of the reasons I decided to pick these hydrangeas in today’s ‘In a vase on Monday’. The hydrangea macrophyia‘s name is ‘Blue Mophead’.

We planted the hyrdrangea earlier the year in Ericaceous compost (which is acid soil) so the plant should have blue flowers but the plant is clearly having none of it. The newest flower is the blue/purple one but the colour turns to pink and then fades to pink/green. I guess I could add something to the pot to change the flowers back to blue but I don’t really have the time or energy this summer. Maybe next year 🙂

three hydrangea blue - three blooms in pink - 13 July 2015

three hydrangea blue – three blooms in pink – 13 July 2015

I’ve used this bud vase in my first ever ‘In a vase on Monday’ with tête a tête daffodils back in March. I just wrapped garden wire around the three hydrangea stems so they would stay together and not fall out the vase.   I think I might wrap a thin cream or dark pink ribbon around the neck of the vase if I pick these flowers again.

I think the flowers are beautiful especially as there are so many shades of pink into washed out green.   I’ve moved the pot to the bottom of the garden on the deck so we can can enjoy the flowers when we’re eating and relaxing. Not that we’ve had much chance to enjoy the flowers close up as it’s been pouring down today.

yoda with hydrandea, petunias and some margarites

yoda with hydrandea, petunias and some Marguerites – 13 July 2015

There’s been such a lot to deal with this year but I am slowly working through things and I know I’ll get there.

I’ve been struggling to get things done on time, including writing every Monday about my flower vase. I hate being late or missing deadlines so my tardiness has been bugging me. So it’s only a short blog post today too, so that I can FINISH it! Doing a small job well 🙂
Next on the list is answering some emails/blog comments and then some flower dead-heading/weeding and planning good things for the weekend with my Chap.

Do have a look at Rambling in the Garden where Cathy hosts the meme.  This week she’s gone rather artistic with Sunflowers.  This has reminded me I need to visit Manchester Art Gallery to see how the ‘Lost Gardens of Manchester‘ exhibition is getting on – I was there in May and there will be plenty of new plants and flowers by now.

Do you have plants that didn’t turn out how you expected?  And life has a habit of doing that too – ho hum.  

Carpe Diem

love Bec xx

15 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – not blue anymore

    1. Bec Post author

      I love the vase (jug which we use alot for cream on puddings)…. as soon as I published this post I thought of all the self seeders in my garden like aquilegia 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Lisa@intotheglade

    I have two lots of hydrangeas that were blue last year but they have not flowered yet, so who knows what colour they will be ha! Yours are lovely! I hope you feel better soon and are being kind to yourself. Take care xxx

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      oh you’ll have to let me know what colour they are 🙂 my white hydrangea is about to flower in front garden 🙂 glad you liked mine 🙂 I am just shattered but getting there…. xx xx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    The inbetween shade is particularly lovely, Bec – and yes, life is too short to add things to pots of hydrangeas to try and change the colour! Good philosophy about doing the little jobs well – sometimes even better with a list so they can be crossed off! What is this Lost Gardens exhibition about?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      i like the faded colours too – I have lists in different notepads for different parts of my life… im slowly getting through things…. I should blog about the ‘Lost gardens of Manchester’ at the art gallery – They’re have display boards in the lobby of the art gallery about the Botanic gardens, Picaddilly gardens (which was in city centre near train station) and various other civic gardens which aren’t there anymore – and then there are changing displays of flowers/plants inside and outside the gallery – it’s done in association with the National trust (@NTUrbanGardener) it’s all part of the greening the city initiative 🙂 (inc dig the city garden festival in August).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Noelle

    I also do like flowers at every stage of their development, and often leave them to ‘age’. Yes doing little jobs well, you get that well done feeling each time….

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you 🙂 glad you liked it – enjoy your new garden – just have a think about how much time you have to spare and what you want to use the garden for as that will help you decide what to do 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – white, purple, aquamarine and John Rylands too | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

