In a vase on Monday – Lavatera, Campion, Margarite

Lavatera Marguerite and Campion in a weck jar

Lavatera Marguerite and Campion in a weck jar – 20 July 2015

The garden is looking lush this week, especially my pots and hanging baskets, but I’m a bit perplexed about how to pick the flowers for vases.    So this week there are only three flowers in my Vase on a Monday’.  They are:

  • Lavatera × clementii ‘Rosea’ – which was another gift from my mum.  It was the first thing I planted in my garden and reminds me of my mum’s house where I grew up.   They’re a magnet for bees too.
  • Campion – it’s a really vivid pink – the photos don’t do it justice. The plant came in a pot from my mum’s garden a couple of years ago in a bit of a sorry state.  It took a while to get going but it just keeps flowering for most of the summer.
  • A white Margarite (Argyranthemum frutescens) – it grows about four foot high, flowers for most of the summer. Sadly I don’t know the name. We bought it at Tatton Park Flower Show a couple of years ago.   I really love Daisy-style flowers and have quite a few different plants around the garden.  Always room for a few more 🙂
Marguerites, campion and dragonflies

Marguerites, campion and dragonflies – 20th July 2015

The ‘vase’ originally had risotto rice and dried herbs in it (which made a lovely dinner) and I bought it in Lidl last year and saved it for my chutney.  It’s a Weck Jar who are the German equivalent of Kilner, founded in Oflingen Germany in 1895.  The logo is a cute strawberry.   It’s about 6 inches high and it amused me that, according to their website, it’s actually a juice jar.

weck juice jar - with strawberry logo

weck juice jar – with strawberry logo – 20 July 2015

 

Do have a look at all the lovely vases hosted by Cathy over on Rambling in the Garden.

This week she has beautiful, restful and serene white flowers including a lovely dahlia.   Anyone can join in – I enjoy looking at everyone’s vases very much and it gives me such a lot of ideas for my garden.

There are some lovely dahlias in many of the vases – Particularly, I like the landaff style ones  (they’re daisy style too) and I’ve got a beauty in my garden at the moment – it might appear in the vase next week.

summer boarder - hanging baskets, dragonflies and allium 20 July 2015

summer border – hanging baskets, dragonflies and allium 20 July 2015

This week I am very excited because it’s Royal Horticultural Society Tatton Park Flower Show from Thursday to Sunday and the weather is looking good.   We are going on Thursday, and I expect some more plants will be arriving in our garden 🙂

Are you going to Tatton? Do you go to other flower shows?

Carpe Diem

love
Bec xx

 

14 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Lavatera, Campion, Margarite

    1. Bec Post author

      thank you donna 🙂 I was really surprised how big the margarite was when it came back after the winter. I have to put a stick when it dies back to remind me not to plant bulbs too close 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you Judy – The dragonflies were made by a retired chap who sells them at a local market – I saw them on twitter – I’ve got a few garden ornaments as it can look very bleak out there in middle of winter 😦

      Like

      Reply
  1. misspond

    I am so envious of your garden. Mine is just green, although the buddleia looks like it’s about to bloom 🙂 Tempted to nab a cutting of our neighbours hyacinths though, they’ve gone mad this year!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    I would snap up those dragonflies if I saw them too – or perhaps I will study them closely and have a go myself…. The uprights look as if they are hazel so perhaps the bodies are too (unless they are willow), so I have the raw materials… I am intrigued by your campion which i assume is cultivated rather than wild and a perennial rather than an annual – must look it up. Isn’t it lovely to have plants from family member’s gardens with all their associatons? And what an interesting jar you have used for your lovely vase – our Aldi and Lidl are very close to each other but always use Aldi in preference unless I just need milk in which case I go to Lidl as it is usually empty!! Thanks for sharing these snippets today Bec

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      they were really cheap Cathy (£20) the body is plated willow (and long bits of willow are bent round) and a hole left so it can be stuck on a stick – I watched the chap make one and it too about 20mins. yes when I think about my garden and plants I love alot of it comes from my mum (my dad mostly pruned and cut the grass).
      The original campion my mum cut a chuck off for me has been in her garden for a very long time so I think it is a cultivated one – it’s a really electric pink.
      I think lidl is a good bet for interesting jars like this at Christmas – though Aldi has much better plant supplies – though you do need to be fast 🙂 have a good week Cathy 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Bec Post author

    Thank you – there a really great plant and brighten up my shady border and flower for a couple of months too 🙂 still not quite sure about the proper name even after a visit to the nurseries at Tatton Park Flower show,,,,

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

