In a vase on Monday – sweetpeas

sweetpeas and vase from the eden project - 27 July 2015

sweetpeas and vase from the eden project – 27 July 2015

Everything has really caught up with me this week and I am full of a horrible cold.  We had a wonderful day at Tatton Park Flower Show  on Friday– so much inspiration for our garden, but it was a very long day.  I knew I was going down with something nasty as I couldn’t smell the beautiful flowers I’m including in my vase today.   It’s the sweetpea :-).

I  nipped out to pick these sweetpeas, growing by the front door  – they get full sun all summer and grow among two clematis – one dark purple and the other a more dapply mid pink one.  There’s also a big ‘tom thumb’ hardy fuchsia.  The sweetpeas are about 6 foot high at the moment.  I don’t know the variety as the tag is hidden away.  I’ve got more sweetpeas growing in the north facing back garden but nowhere near as far along as these.

The vase is recycled glass and came from the Eden Project in May 2015; there were about 10 different colours but the Chap said only buy one.  The Eden Project is well worth a visit if you’re in the area and the shop is an Aladdin’s cave of lovely things – often made from re-cycled materials – www.edenproject.com/shop/

sweetpeas and vase from the eden project

sweetpeas and vase from the eden project – 27 July 2015

Please take a look at Rambling in the Garden –  Cathy’s got gorgeous flowers from her mum’s  garden on an island on the West of Scotland.  It sounds a challenging place to garden, but must be very beautiful.  I went to University in Scotland and it’s a place close to my heart.  I really must visit again soon.   Cathy also talks about how her Mum picking flowers for vases helped give her love of gardening.  I hope her mum enjoys the vases people post.  Writing this blog, has also reminded me how much of my love of gardening, sitting in the garden and enjoying visiting stately homes, castles and great gardens comes from my mother.  Thanks Mum! My love of cooking comes from my Dad though.

Have a good week everyone – I’m hoping the rain will stop soon here in Manchester and I’ll feel better soon.

Carpe Diem

Love Bec xx

18 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – sweetpeas

  1. taphian

    Oh, I love these sweatpeas, their colors and specially their smell. I wish I had some, too, in our garden, but the slugs eat up everything. Get well soon, I hope the rain will stop here,too

    Like

    Reply
  2. Anna

    Oh those sweet peas colours really compliment that attractive vase. I’m not so far away from you in North Cheshire where it’s raining too. I’m reminding myself that the garden needed some of the wet stuff but it’s not making me feel any happier.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Laura

    I love sweatpeas! My mum used to grow them all the time in out garden! Not this summer though – hopefully I can get her to do so next year cause they are so sweet and cute!

    Laura / smileatstyle.com

    Like

    Reply
  4. Kris P

    The sweet peas are wonderful, although I’m sorry that you can’t smell them. I hope your cold passes quickly. I find it amazing that those of you still have sweet peas this late in the year – ours were already done in by heat in March.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you Kris – hopefully my cold will go soon. They’ve only just started flowering here in soggy Manchester in last couple of weeks (they’d be earlier if I had a green house) and should last right though to late autumn/Oct if there’s no frost. One of the things I love about blogging is speaking to gardeners around the world and all their different challenges…. my lavender is lovely too at the moment.

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – I really like them – cheer me up everytime they go in and out of house – had mixed results with growing from seed. Have been getting more into growing scented flowers – inc lilac,
      lavender, honeysuckle and philadephus for next spring 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    The speckledy pink sweet pea is especially gorgeous – such a shame you can’t smell them at the moment. I usually prefer single colours for most annuals I grow but I had a free packet of mixed sweet peas and have to admit to enjoying the blend of colours. Do still try and get in the garden even with your cold as I am sure it will help lift your spirits and the fresh air will be beneficial too…

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thanks cathy 🙂 yes the sweetpeas are lovely. it took over a week before I could smell anything 😦 they’re flowering away outside the front door which are definitely cheering me up. Yes – you’re right…. I spend as much time in garden as I can… (or looking out on it from the lounge). It’s been very wet in Manchester at times recently but at least the waterbutts are full. xx

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you – it took over a week before I could smell the sweet peas 😦 summer cold’s are rubbish. the sweet peas are still flowering outside the front door 🙂 make me very happy.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – sweetpeas are blissful and so are we | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

