#100happydays challenge 21-28 friends, food, drink, flowers and yoda too

Friendship improves happiness and abates misery, by the doubling of our joy and the dividing of our grief – Cicero

Here’s an update on the #100happydays challenge (from late October 2015) – you can see my latest photos on my twitter account (@becinmonton).

As usual, I seem to been busy but one or two things stand out for me; fun with friends, my love of sci-fi and also once again, how important my garden is to me.   I’m so fortunate that I’ve got lots of friends who I’ve met via work, studying and outdoor adventures.

I’ve made lots of new friends too, since I joined the Women’s Institute a few years ago.   I’m a proud member of Cottonopolis WI in Ancoats, Manchester. I guarantee the WI isn’t what you think it is and it’s not about Jam, Jerusalem or calendars either.

star wars cookie cutters, lunch at Kro, Batch Gin, suffragette film

21/100 star wars cookie cutters, 22/100 lunch at Kro, 23/100 Batch Gin, 24/100 suffragette film

21/100 A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away

These are my favourite cookie cutters; my friend L bought them for me a few years ago; I tend to make ginger biscuits with them. We are both big Stars Wars fans. I was 10 in 1977 when the first film opened. I think we went to see it about six times that year, played with pretend light sabers in the playground. I think there were toys the following Christmas and I wish I’d kept the toys my Uncle gave me.  I think Princess Leia being a kick ass warrior helped my view of the world too. I’ve loved the films ever since (apart from Jar Jar Binks).  I am VERY excited for ‘Force Awakens’.

I had a good chat on the phone with my friend L who I’ve known for nearly 20 years. She’s a scientist, cook, gardener and all round sound person – and always sees solutions to problems and she’s always been there for me when things have been tough (including this year).   I hope I’ve been a good friend to her too. She moved to London a few years ago and I miss our regular lunches, walks in the country and cocktails out in the city.

22/100 Garden planning

I had a lovely lunch with my pal C – we talked a lot about her new garden in her new house and what to grow where. I’ve been mates with C for a nearly ten years, after we ended up sharing an office at work; she’s been a really good friend to me over the years, especially this year.  Likewise, I hope been a good friend to her too.   The food was good but, I can’t stand food on slate plates or random other flat receptacles. I’d like a plate please 🙂

She’s a member of Cottonopolis WI too – we’ve had fun doing paper cutting, arm knitting, photography, and many interesting talks this year. Eaten a lot of cake too.  If you’re a lady working or living near Manchester drop in – you’d be very welcome.  There are many new and established WI’s around the country too.

23/100 Gin (from Batch)

My chap loves Gin, so I took him to a gin tasting session. It covered the origins, scientific background and methods of distilling and the especially huge variety of botanicals. I’ve never liked gin because I don’t like the smell or taste of juniper. Charlie (who blogs too at Ginfuelledbluestocking) who led the tasting said I hadn’t found the right one. She was right – I really liked the Batch gin so I think I might be drinking a lot more gin J

The event was part of Manchester Science Festival which is just getting bigger and better.

24/100 – watching Suffragette film with 90 Women’s Institute sisters

I went (with C) to watch the film ‘Suffragette’ with 90 Greater Manchester Women’s Institute sisters. It was organised by our neighbours Manchester WI.  The film was very powerful, with excellent acting. I recommend it.   As with all films based on true events, it’s considerably more complex historically than what’s covered on screen.

halloween, yoda at halloween, vino verde wine, petunias in the garden

25/100 halloween, 26/100 yoda at halloween, 27/100 vino verde wine, 28/100 petunias in the garden

25/100 eating popcorn watching a film with my chap – Halloween

This was Halloween evening – and we watched PS I love you.  My chap loves a rom-com and this film was one of the first rom coms we watched together.

26/100 yoda and my pumpkin

It’s been very weird weather in Manchester this Autumn (12-15 C) which is much warmer than it should be for this time of year; so plenty of summer bedding has flowered into late November.   I had a lovely relaxing day planting tulip bulbs in the garden but I decided a picture of soil would be a bit dull.   My fuchsias are still flowering too.

27/100 – vino verde from Portugal

I’d tried this wine at the Cottonopolis WI wine club a week or so previously – so I was very pleased to find it at Bents Garden Centre.  C and I had a lovely time choosing shrubs for her new garden and had good look around (I came away with new secateurs).   We’d had a couple of bottles of vino verde in Lisbon too; so I’ll definitely be drinking more.

28/100 petunias still flowering (3 Nov 2015)

I planted these pentunias in some hanging baskets and they’re still flowering on 22 November!  Hard frost tonight though 😦

*****

#100happydays challenge 

You can follow my photos for #100happydays challenge on twitter feed everyday (@becinmonton)

*****

#100happydays challenge is very simple:

  • Can you be happy for 100 days in a row?  
  • Every day submit a picture of what made you happy!
  • It can be about anything or anyone.  
  • It’s a way of getting in touch with the moment you’re in
  • People can submit photos privately too.

Anyone around the world can get involved in #100happyday or just have a look for the hashtag or on facebook too.             

Carpe Diem

love Bec xx

18 thoughts on “#100happydays challenge 21-28 friends, food, drink, flowers and yoda too

  1. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 14-20 food, music, Victoria baths | Views from my garden bench

  2. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 6-13 – Lovely Lisbon | Views from my garden bench

  3. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 1-5 photos | Views from my garden bench

    1. Bec Post author

      I love your 365 project – is there a central website for it? you should definitely try #100happydays – it’s been interesting esp if I’ve been having a rough day. The burger is from Kro btw 🙂 love Bec xx

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      The women’s institute is great fun – you’d be very welcome to come along to ours. There are lots of new ones setting up across Greater Manchester so probably one near you. Yoda is great he moves around the garden too – yes my fuchsias are still flowering! the weather is odd…

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 29-34 Deeds not words, inspiring women, love | Views from my garden bench

  5. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – dahlias still here! #100happydays | Views from my garden bench

  6. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 35-41 – Love, food, poetry, learning and travel | Views from my garden bench

  7. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – dahlias and happiness | Views from my garden bench

  8. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…. | Views from my garden bench

  9. Pingback: Christmas #100happy days surrounded by love and happy memories | Views from my garden bench

  10. Pingback: #100happydays Christmas Sunday – turkey and ham pie | Views from my garden bench

  11. Pingback: My 2016 – carry on (happiness and hope) | Views from my garden bench

  12. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 42-49 family, food and friends and adventures too | Views from my garden bench

  13. Pingback: #100happydays 50-54 Cottonopolis WI and Christmas too | Views from my garden bench

Leave a Reply

