#100happydays Christmas Sunday – turkey and ham pie

If you really want to make a friend, go to someone’s house and eat with him… the people who give you their food give you their heart – Cesar Chavez – co-founder of the National Farm Workers Association.

image

image

My Chap is a really good cook; he used to be a chef when he was young.  He decided to make turkey and ham pie for dinner tonight.  I’ve been absolutely full of a cold so it was just what I needed. It was absolutely lovely and definitely today’s #100happydays photo. He made the recipe up but I expect it’s similar to this BBC food one – Turkey, Ham and Leek Pie – no cream though as I’m lactose intollerant.

Turkey and ham pie is a bit of a Christmas tradition in my house.   My Dad who was also superb cook and used to make pies with Christmas dinner leftovers – if you didn’t move fast on Boxing Day there wouldn’t be any cold meat left for cold cuts, pickles, and bubble and squeak.  In his later years, started making Turkey curry at Christmas – Madhur Jaffrey‘s the famous actress and cookery writer’s influence.

My Dad expressed his love for his family and friends by cooking wonderful food – much like my Chap.  My Dad has been dead for nearly 16 years but so many memories of him are associated with food.  He loved smoked salmon too – his family lived in the East End of London with many Jewish neighbours – who influenced their cooking (& outlook on life). My Uncle Fred was an ace pickler too – his piccalilli was epic!  My brother and I divided their very large cook book collection – often I consult the books for inspiration.  My Chap, who I’ve only known six years, would have got on well with my Dad and Uncle Fred – a lot of recipe chat.

I hope you’ve had some favourite foods this Christmas and made some good memories.

What has made you happy today?

Carpe Diem

Love Bec

xxx

You can follow my photos for #100happydays challenge on twitter feed everyday (@becinmonton)

*****

#100happydays challenge is very simple:

  • Can you be happy for 100 days in a row?
  • Every day submit a picture of what made you happy!
  • It can be about anything or anyone.
  • It’s a way of getting in touch with the moment you’re in
  • People can submit photos privately too.
  • Anyone around the world can get involved in #100happydays or just have a look for the hashtag or on facebook too.

What has made you happy today?

11 thoughts on “#100happydays Christmas Sunday – turkey and ham pie

    1. Bec Post author

      I’m feeling a bit better today – Hurrah!
      I’d never heard of Brunswick Stew (being a Brit) but it sounds lovely – so I’ll have to make it sometime. Sounds like you had a good time too. love bec xx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Bec Post author

        Thank you very much for the recipe Judy. I’m definitely going to have a go at this. I’ll report back 🙂 I’ve not quite got the hang of the American cup system – do you just fill the cups full of the meat? I’ve got American cup measures but only ever used them for dried things like flour or liquids 🙂 have a lovely New Years Eve and a great 2016. Love bec xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

        A cup is 8 oz or 1/2 a pound – hope that helps. Or add as much meat you want. I got a little too much pepper in the last batch – whew, we needed a big glass of water. LOL When I heated the remainder up, I just added a couple of tomatoes and that cooled it down. 🙂

        Like

  1. Jess

    I love seeing what people make of Christmas leftovers. I’m usually so sozzled on Boxing Day that I can just about manage a sandwich! Maybe that’s my Christmas tradition?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Bec Post author

    The chap didn’t have enough leftover turkey for curry but I think it’s appearing next week… My Chap was muttering about making nan bread – he likes baking too 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

