Coreopsis – sunfire, red dianthus, Achillea, sweetpea milk bottle vase

In a Vase on Monday – A change is as good as a rest

A change is a good as a rest – proverb

A change of work is the best rest. Arthur Conan Doyle, The Sign of Four (1888) – 2nd Sherlock Holmes novel

The more regular readers of this blog will have noticed that MOST of my flowers vases contain purple, pinks, lilac and white flowers with red appearing now and again. So perhaps people might think that’s the only colour scheme in our garden – it’s not.  I walked round looking for flowers to pick, it was a very overcast day here in Manchester, a couple of different yellow flowers popped out from the gloom.

Definitely time for a change!  So this week’s In a Vase on Monday, in a milk bottle vase, has many yellow flowers and a bit of red too.

Coreopsis – sunfire, red dianthus, Achillea, sweetpea milk bottle vase

In a Vase on Monday – Coreopsis – sunfire, red dianthus, Achillea, sweetpea – 26 September 2016

It looks so cheery, even though it’s feeling very Autumnal:

  • Coreopsis – sunfire – I really liked their raged edge.
  • Pansy 🙂
  • Red dianthus –these flowers have appeared in ‘In a Vase on Monday’ before:
  • Achillea – it comes in many colours and sizes. This one starts as yellow and fades to pink/yellow.  It only grows about 18 inches high.  I don’t know its name as it was a gift.  Its common name is yarrow and it’s appeared in a vase before.
  • White sweetpea – this is the very last flower from the plant at the end of the garden.

Yellow is associated with happiness and joy especially for flower bouquets it represents new beginnings – so that seems appropriate too – since I’m about to enter a new decade.

Coreopsis – sunfire, red dianthus, Achillea, sweetpea milk bottle vase

Coreopsis – sunfire, red dianthus, Achillea, sweetpea – 26 September 2016

Do have a look at Cathy’s flowers over on ‘Rambling in the Garden’ – she has one vase with very architectural pink Nerine which look stunning.   She has another vase which has dahlias, zinnia and Persicaria amplexicaulis as well as foliage from oca –  It’s  a New Zealand yam – I’d never heard of this before.

Thank you to Cathy and Christina (who gardens in Lazio, Italy – Creating my own garden of the Hesperides) who have both suggested growing zinnia’s for our wedding next September.  We’ve never grown them before but they seem straight forward so I’ll be ordering some seeds – purple, crimson and white flowers I hope 😉

Christina has a very zingy yellow vase with sunflowers and Rudbeckea with a more unusual flower 😉 She’s also got bright pink dahlias in another vase, much more like my usual colour choices. Fingers crossed my munched dahlias recover for my vase next week. Do have a look at her choices too – entitled mellow yellow.

It’s possible to travel the world looking at everyones efforts for In a Vase on Monday – I don’t think anyone joins in from Portugal though. When we went last year we saw some stunning flowers, hibiscus in front gardens, along with lemon and orange trees – as well as wonderful parks with formal box hedges.

Eduardo VII Park, Lisboa - statue of King Edward VII

Eduardo VII Park, Lisbon – Looking down to Targus – October 2015

Holiday booked

Our exciting news this week is that we have booked to go back to Lisbon again in a couple of weeks.  It’s to celebrate a big birthday for me; eek!

I am so excited to be going back to this wonderful city – we barely scratched the surface last year – I wrote about it as part of my #100happydays.  Lisbon has wonderful castles, churches, viewpoints (Miradors), art galleries and museums as well as great food and wine – everyone was so friendly and helpful too.   Excellent transport system – especially the trams.  More about Lisbon:

So I guess I’m getting a change of scene and some rest, I hope.  Might read a ‘Sherlock Holmes’ novel you never know… I expect I’ll be reading a gardening book.

Have a lovely week,

Carpe Diem

Love
Bec xx

11 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – A change is as good as a rest

  1. Cathy

    Sometimes it can be too easy to veer towards the same colours, can’t it? Those pansies are really zingy and you have both coreopsis and achillea which I have consistently failed with here – will keep trying with achillea though. The last sweet pea is always a sad day – so thanks for sharing it with us. Hope you enjoy your trip and that it takes the edge of any doubts you have about a new decade – don’t worry, it gets (even) better 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thanks Cathy, I love pinks, lilacs, purple, white as it’s so restful in our small garden. I’ve got my achillea and coreopsis in the sunniest part of front garden and they seem to be doing ok – next to osteopernums. I’ve got one ‘gone over’ lilac sweetpea flower by the front door but that’s it for this year – Oh well. I’m hoping for a less rollercoaster decade than the last one – It’s mostly been good in my 40s but I think turning 50 means I’ll probably be even happier in my own skin (and despite a slightly nackered back) and of course, My Chap is here holding my hand (sometime metaphorically) – Carpe diem xx 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Sarah | The Urban Wanderer

    What a lovely idea taking a photo of your vase each Monday. I don’t think I have enough flowers in my garden right now (that can be spared for inside) that I could join in, but I will when I have more blooms 🙂

    Ah, Portugal is lovely, isn’t it? Any the Hibiscus are amazing. I grew one at home once and it was fantastic only one of my cats was determined to shred every flower it ever had!

    Enjoy your trip and I look forward to more of your vases 🙂

    Love Sarah xx

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Hi Sarah – it’s easier than you might think even in a small garden. folliage is just as important, so people pick herbs, architectural things like dried alium heads, branches from puned trees. I’ve only got a small north facing soggy garden – and I have alot of things in pots (like bulbs/shrubs) which can be moved around. It’s possible to plant cutting garden flowers in v small spaces too – do join in if you want or follow Cathy’s posts – lovely in grey day in manchester to see what’s flowering around the world . I’m far from an expert gardener but everyone is lovely and helpful 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Sarah | The Urban Wanderer

        Hi Bec,
        I ever thought about branches and things to pop into the vase – good call!
        I am lucky to have a fairly decent sided garden and it has been filled with some lovely colour (only at the moment I’m enjoying it out there!) 🙂
        I’m definitely going to check out Cathy’s posts and yours too 🙂 Thank you, Bec x

        Like

      2. Bec Post author

        it can be from near your locality too – so I’ve picked things from empty plots. I pick flowers for indoors if it’s going to rain all week or drag the pots right by the patio door so I can see them 🙂 as I work full time it’s difficult to get out in garden during week – esp when it’s darker months. Hope you like the thread on Cathy’s blog ‘Rambling in the Garden’ and my vases too… You’ll be looking in charity shops for suitable vases next I’ve got lots of jugs of different sizes 😉

        Like

    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – Lisbon is a wonderful place. We went for the first time last year and we knew we’d be back. Think the weak pound against the Euro because of Brexit will make it more expensive.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

