In a vase on Monday – Oranges and lemons – anyone for tennis?

rose, geum, hypericum, pontenilla

rose, geum, hypericum, potenilla – In a vase on Monday – 29 June 2015

Tennis: the most perfect combination of athleticism, artistry, power, style, and wit. A beautiful game, but one so remorselessly travestied by the passage of time. – Martin Amis

As the weather warms up across the UK and the tennis at Wimbledon starts, it’s got me thinking of Robinson’s lemon squash. It’s still a part of the courtside scene, and is integral to the British summer. So today’s vase is reflecting the colours of oranges and lemons; I hope you like it.

I’ve been waiting a while to show the only rose I have in my garden.  It’s from my front garden and was in a very sorry state when I brought my house 6 years ago but some judicious pruning from my Chap has revived it.  I couldn’t include any of the open roses as they’d lost petals because of the winds we had at the weekend. It opens out into  much lighter orange petals – no scent though.

‘In a vase on Monday’ is hosted by Cathy over at www.ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/ She’s got a really vibrant vase this week with her first sunflower.  It’s lovely – do have a look around everyone’s vases – I can’t tell you how much the vases brighten my day.

The other flowers are:
– Geum – Queen of Orange – this is new to the garden this year.  I’ve got a red/orange Geum which was planted last year but the flowers went over between Sunday and Monday – typical!
-a yellow hypericum – there were six bushes of this around my garden – two in the back garden and four (yes four round the lamppost in my front garden).  We’ve dug up, split and given way all but two plants in front garden and one in the back garden.  I like hypericum’s as you get a lot of plant, interesting leaves, pretty yellow flowers and then red/black berries right through until Autumn.
– Potentilla fruticosa – ‘Abbotswood’ another shrub which was in my garden when I arrived.  It’s on the edge of my patio and has a lot of pots sitting in front of it – and the white flowers set off my fuchsias very well.
The vase is just a plain glass one with a ‘clinched’ in middle.

close up - rose, hypericum, pontentilla, geum - In a vase on Monday

close up – rose, hypericum, pontentilla, geum – In a vase on Monday – 29 June 2015

My chap and I had our fifth anniversary  last week, and one of the gifts he gave me was this compass paving stone – he knows we plan so many of our adventures while sitting in our garden and it fits perfectly in the gap next to the decking.   It’s set to magnetic north and, as usual, yoda is overseeing things.  My Chap’s going to set it in gravel soon, as that end of the garden is very shady, so the grass is mostly moss and that’s why there are lots of dandelions too.

yoda compass adventures travel

yoda and the compass – 29 June 2015

I’m off to watch a bit more Wimbledon – I’m very happy because the wifi works throughout the garden so I’ll be sitting at the bistro table enjoying the view of the garden too.

I’ve always loved watching the tennis. My mum used to listen to it on the radio all day at work and as soon as we got home the TV would be on and we’d all be watching.  I was lucky enough to go to Wimbledon with my mum in 1977 – Centre Court tickets too. We saw Ilie Năstase, Billy Jean King and an 18 year old John McEnroe  at his first Wimbledon (as an amateur too), he was grumpy but it was very clear he would be a great talent.   The strawberries were lovely, but expensive, so nothing much changes.  I’d love to go again but always forget to put in for the ballot.

1977 was a fine year as it’s also the being of my love of Star Wars – I think I saw the film three times at the cinema, and everyone wanted a light sabre for Christmas.  I was 11.

Fingers crossed for Andy Murray.   Are you watching the tennis too?

Carpe Diem

Love Bec

Xx

17 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Oranges and lemons – anyone for tennis?

  1. pbmgarden

    Hi Bec, I like the orange and yellow focus of your vase this week. Many interesting specimens including the lovely rose. It would be nice to have hypericum to add to arrangements–such a great filler and nice on its own as well. Sounds like a great Wimbledon adventure.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you – yes I liked the colours too – you’d be very welcome to some hypericum if you were nearer – it’s virtually indestructable and self seeds too – so it’s an ongoing split and give away project 🙂
      most of the rest of my garden flowers are pinks and purples etc so I expect I’ll be back to those shades next week. Yes Wimbledon was fun but I don’t remember much about it now…

      Like

      Reply
  2. homeslip

    I enjoyed this post Bec. It is very hard getting away from the tennis (or indeed any sport involving a ball, actually let’s just say any sport full stop) in this house as my husband is obsessed. I even had to finally give in last August and we had a sky satellite dish fitted and that goes against all my principles… Let me see June 1977 and I was doing my ‘O’ levels we called them back then and it was rainy I remember. My school was in Twickenham and we used to catch the train to Wimbledon, walk to the grounds and get in for about 50p and then as people left centre and no. 1 courts they would give us smart schoolgirls their tickets for nothing. Those were the days, picnic tea in our satchels, stripy summer dresses, short socks. I used to arrive home in the dark ready to do it again the next day. And yes my husband and I do still play tennis. Your vase is lovely by the way and you’re making the most of what you’ve got which is the first rule of anything. I think my best advice is to let things like Nigella and cornflowers, even Orlaya and ammi majus gently self-seed in your garden. Enjoy your gardening, it is an adventure too!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Beckie

    I don’t really know much about flowers but I love the mix of the colours, feel very Spring/Summer! I love watching Wimbledon in the summer with a nice Pimms and happy belated anniversary! x

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you Beckie 🙂 I’m glad you liked them – it’s funny you should mention Pimm’s, I’m drinking a pint of Pimms in the garden right now 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      yes it’s orange – it opens out and fades to a lighter orange and goes a bit yellow at the end. I’ll take some photos of older roses tomorrow…
      I don’t remember much about Wimbledon 77 – I need to ask my mum as she’s got a better memory than me 🙂 (we’re watching Wimbledon on the wifi at the bistro table at the moment – happy days) have a lovely week 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Lima (@Fashionicide)

    Is it bad that I don’t know any of the flowers except for roses? I’ve recently got into flowers, potted plants actually and what you have on display looks fantastic, a lovely combination

    I have serious garden envy right now as well. Come do mine please? Hehe.

    xo

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – I’m pleased you liked the arrangement – the other flowers come from shurb bushes which don’t need much doing to them during the year. I’m rubbish with potted plants – I tend to kill them… the thing about gardening is working out how much time you have to devote to it and also what you want from your garden 🙂 e,g, somewhere to eat out? (I have plants with lovely scents near my bistro table) or things to eat – strawberries are easy to grow. If you’re really new to garden often easiest to start with things in pots (just need time to water them if it’s hot)…. i’ve only got a little garden but it was a right mess when I moved in 5 years ago… good luck with your garden – just start out with a small project 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    Those colours reflect the heat we are having here and look so very happy and summery. Love the rose especially. Aah, sweet memories of Wimbledon… since living abroad I have lost touch but it was THE event in our house too. (We must be the same age!) It always reminds me how much I love lemon barley water which I can’t get hold of here! Chill out in a shady spot and enjoy the rest of Wimbledon!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      thank you very much – the hypericum and the roses are still flowering – I need to add a picture of the rost fully open to this blog post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Wild Daffodil

    Gorgeous! wonderful oranges and a height of summer feel. Yes I have been watching Wimbledon – I watched Murray’s match yesterday whilst painting yet more pots – orange!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Cathy

    Thanks for sharing your pretty vase and all the links and memories you have included. All geums seem to sizzle, so yours were perfect with your single rose and the hypericum berries were a perfect addition. Great topical theme – not that I a tennis fan myself but I do recall the day I got married the first time was mens finals 1976, when Bjorn Borg won for the first time – which lots of people wanted to watch of course!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday – sunny yarrow, oranges and reds | Views from my garden bench

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.