In a Vase on Monday – first and latest fuchsias

In search of my Mother’s garden, I found my own. 

Alice Walker, writer (1942- )

Hardy fuchsias are tough – mine have been flowering well, despite very wet and windy weather in Manchester.  By the time I got outside, in daylight, to pick the fuchsias the rain had pulverised the flowers on two of the three bushes I have planted around the garden.  These are picked from the bush outside the kitchen window, as it’s more protected from the elements.  I took the photo at 2pm with a flash, as it was so gloomy.

pink and purple fuchsia, pink dianthus and cotoneaster in hand painted lavender pattern vase

21 Nov 2016 – fuchsia, pink dianthus and cotoneaster in hand painted (by me!) vase at 2pm in the gloom.

Fuchsias are the first flowers I remember in my Mum’s garden when I was very little – I thought they were like ballerinas.  My Mum adores fuchsias, and has always had lots of hardy and tender ones all around the garden in pots.  I grew up in Berkshire and our garden was heavy London clay so many of her favourite plants were in terracotta pots on the patio – I learnt to garden with her.   My Mum is  nearly 80 now (please don’t tell her I said that 😉 ) and still has many pots filled with fuchsia, around her large patio – and often brings another fuchsia for our collection.  My Chap just smiles and finds another space for them.

I’ve cut cotoneaster too, which is next to the fuchsia by the front door, the bush is covered in red berries and the leaves are turning red – it looks glorious – I don’t know the variety as this was one of the few plants in the garden when I arrived. The cotoneaster is proping up the fuchsia stems just like it does in the garden. The dianthus  was a gift and this is the very last flower – the plant never really got going this year as it’s been so wet.  I bought the fuchsia in Morrisons of all places and it’s tom thumb (or a relative) – It grows to window hight which makes a lovely view when I’m washing up.

21 Nov 2016 - cotoneaster, hardy fuchsia and pink dianthus

21 Nov 2016 – cotoneaster, hardy fuchsia and pink dianthus

I decided to take a photo indoors too – I rarely do take indoor photos of anything as my house is quite dark (north facing) and small so there’s always something in the background.

21 Nov 2016 - cotoneaster, fuchsia and dianthus in my hand painted lavender vase.

21 Nov 2016 – cotoneaster, fuchsia and dianthus in my hand painted lavender vase.

I painted the jug at ‘Pottery Corner’ in Chorlton*, Manchester in March 2016, using glass paint.  It’s just one of the many things I’ve done with my WI pals from Cottonopolis WI www.cottonopoliswi.com, in Ancoats in Manchester.  I was really pleased with how well they came out, as I’m quite clumsy and not much of an artist.  Do come along if you’re local or look out for a WI – it’s not what you think it will be like 🙂

purple vase and jug - hjandpainted by me at Pottery Corner, Chorlton

March 2016 – Painted vase and jug – I painted at Pottery Corner, Chorlton, Manchester with the lovely Cottonopolis Women’s Institute.

Looking back – first fuchsias (and first terracotta pots) 

I looked back on Facebook and found some photos of the first pots I had in my garden.  My Mum came up to visit in May 2010, bringing some spare terracotta pots, and we spent a happy few hours planting them up.  The number of terracotta pots has grown rather alot since then 🙂

Pink, purple fuchsia, petunia, lobelia' helicrysum, pelagoniums in Pots. Copyright R Jones

First pots in my garden (with fuchsia, petunia, lobelia’ helicrysum, pelagoniums) – August 2010

hanging basket and pot with pink petunias, fuchsia and lobelia - orange rose

19 November 2016 – Flowers from my garden in Summer 2010 – my first pot and hanging basket,  with my solitary rose

In August 2010, I wrote  (on facebook),

more pots in my garden – I had such fun planning these… could be turning into a closet gardener…

In fact, I’ve always been a gardener but I lived in flats in Manchester for over 20 years, so had no opportunity to do much.  I’d garden when I was at home at my Mum and Dad’s house down South.   A small garden was the number one priority when I was looking for a house to buy.

I wrote about my Mum and her love of gardening in one of my early posts in February 2015 and fuchsias get a mention too.   Considering how many fuchsias I have around the garden, and how long they flower for, I’m really surprised how rarely they’ve appeared in posts or in Vases:

I love fuchsias and have plenty of tender ones which live in the garage over the winter (as we don’t have space for a greenhouse).   I really must remember to pick and photograph more fuchsias next year.

I’m dreaming of Spring and planting bulbs in pots in the porch where it’s dry and my Chap is distributing the pots around the garden.  This week Cathy has a very zingy pink Chrysanthumum which is making me think of high summer.  Do have a look at her post on Rambling in the Garden, where people from around the world post pictures of flowers from their gardens and localities.  No matter how grey and wet the weather is, these beautiful photos and descriptions lift my mood.

Have a lovely week and I hope it’s dry where you are.

Carpe Diem

love Bec xx

* I paid full price for my painted vases and wasn’t asked to write a blog post about Pottery Corner.

 

15 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – first and latest fuchsias

  1. Cathy

    I think fuchsia was the first flower I became aware of as a child too, Bec, other than wild flowers that is. How nice that you have carried that latent interest in gardening all through those 20 years of living flats – sometimes you know just when the time is right and it is good to see it is being rekindled. I like your handpainted jug and its rustic finish and it will be reat for brinking the pink out any arrangements you pop into it, like your fuchsias and daianthus today. Thanks for sharing ps I was pleased to find out a WI group was starting up in our village until I found it was going to be on Monday night which is my Tai Chi night and which I have to miss one seesion a month of because of something else I do – sigh! such is life… Have a good week

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Oh you beat me to the link on your blog – I can’t believe I’m on time this week 🙂 Yes I remember wild flowers too; I used to walk dogs with my gran and she’d tell me the names – although I grew up in New Town so there was alot of development. Thank you – I expect the other jug will get an outing too (all my WI crafting adventures are a bit rustic). That’s just typical about the WI on same night – perhaps another one will start locally too… there’s lots of new ones starting at the moment – I’ve met so many new people and made new friends too. I really must write about WI and what sort of things we do 🙂 yes you have a lovely week too 🙂 and hope the weather improves too x

      Like

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        I noticed the ‘pingback’ which appeared when you posted because of the link you had made to mine and popped over there and then as I try to keep on top of IAVOM posts because there quite a few of them!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Chloris

    Fuchsias are an early childhood memory for me too. I used to enjoy popping the fat buds. Your cotoneaster looks like Cotoneaster horizontalis. I love your hand painted jug, very impressive.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thanks – I think alot of people will remember fuchsias from childhood too – Thanks for the info on the cotoneaster – I wasn’t sure if it was that one or not. I was really pleased with my jug too. I picked small things to paint so I wouldn’t have to rush 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Sus

    Oh my goodness Fuchsias are the flowers that remind me of MY mother!! She loved them, we had them everywhere, especially in her hanging baskets so it was the first thing you’d see when you come in 🙂 I love the vase too, lovely post xxx

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you Sus – lots of people tell me that fuchsias remind them of their mum 🙂 I was so chuffed how well the vase came out – I’m not much of a painter – but I picked something small 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thanks Emma – you could probably grow a dwarf hardy variety in a pot on your balcony. As long as they aren’t in full sun all day they should be fine. My mum has so many kinds of fuchsia. I’ll count next time I’m down at hers. Have a lovely week love bec xx

      Like

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you Anca – the fuchsias should have stopped flowering end of Oct. I was so pleased with the jug but I won’t be taking up painting 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Cath

    I agree, Fuschias so look like dancers. Mine are from cuttings from my partner’s aunt, I suppose the ease of sharing them is one reason they have been so popular. Yours are lovely and your hand painted vase suits them so well.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thanks catch. I think I got most of my hardy ones from Tatton Park flower show. Most of the tender ones came from there, my Mum or in random basket mixes at the garden centre. I don’t think we can squeeze many more in. My Chap put hanging baskets on the concrete fence panels – but they’re alot of watering. but I’ll definitely pick some more for vases next year. Have a good week love bec xx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – I’ve not done any painting since school 30yes ago – and I wasn’t much good. I think it helped I picked a small jug and simple pattern. Thank you for info about my cotoneaster – Its always interesting to know what plants are called somewhere else. Hope you’ve had a lovely week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

