From small things to big… acorns to oaks – being mindful helps

Much of this year has been very difficult for me mentally and physically, especially after my friend died in April 2015. A couple of weeks ago I saw the #100happydays challenge – http://100happydays.com/

I decided to have a go – it’s pretty simple really…It’s asking

  • Can you be happy for 100 days in a row?  
  • Every day submit a picture of what made you happy!
  • It can be about anything or anyone.  
  • It’s a way of getting in touch with the moment you’re in
  • People can submit photos privately too.

My flowers and garden have brought me so much solace this year during such difficult times; my garden has been my sanctuary.  The Great Gardens (like Tatton, Helligan, Bodnant and Dunham Massey) we’ve visited have helped too as well, as have all the beautiful flowers from all gardening bloggers across the world.   I’ve been getting back into yoga (it helps my back trouble) and have been doing some mindfulness practise too.   And of course, my friends and especially my Chap have supported and loved me.

I hope doing this will remind me of things, people and experiences that help make me happy.  I’m definitely getting back to where I want to be.

#100happy days dahlia, vinegar, acorns, mindfulness 1-4

dahlia (1/100), vinegar (2/100), acorns (3/100), mindfulness (4/100) #100happydays

1/100 – mini dahlia in a very mini milk bottle

I found this flower lurking among the slug-ravaged leaves. I wrote about it here

2/100 – blackberry vinegar

We had huge amount of blackberries from both my mum’s and my friend’s gardens so I froze some for crumbles and other puddings   I decided to have a go a blackberry vinegar; it was very easy to make and it’s hidden away in the cupboard infusing.

I’ve got to wait a couple of weeks before the next stage; it will need straining, simmering with some sugar and decanting into smaller bottles and apparently it will last for years.

3/100 – acorns in my friend J’s hands

I went to see my pal J, who’s on maternity leave waiting for her baby to arrive. We talked about growing an oak tree to mark her baby girl’s birth.  She and her husband have decided that they’ll take the sapling to be planted in the National Forest in Derbyshire. It needs to grow for a couple of years first (just like their baby) before they can plant it out. Isn’t this a wonderful idea?  Find out how to grow your own oak tree here:

4/100 Mindfulness and Wellbeing Rooms

I’ve been doing mindfulness at work (and at home) which is definitely helping.
Find out more about mindfulness which is an ancient meditation technique and also how it is used within Mindful cognitive behavioural therapy – http://mbct.co.uk/ and the Guardian wrote about it today (20 October 2015) by Jon Kabat-Zinn, creator of the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School who brought mindfulness concepts to the West in the 1960s.

I’m very fortunately that there are many wellbeing classes I can attend at work, like mindfulness, as well as counselling (there are lots of stressed students).  Also, I’ve started tai chi and am doing yoga again which helps with my chronic back trouble. I do Iyengar yoga, which is very good for people with injuries, and the teachers have to study for about three years before they can teach it to others.  More information:

I started practising yoga nearly 10 years ago and it has made a big difference to my life.  I’ll write about more about yoga another time.

5/100 a visit to Dunham Massey with my pal C

Dunham Massey mansion - 5/100 #100happydays

Dunham Massey – 5/100 #100happydays

My friend C and I have birthdays close together so we usually go out for the day.  It was a glorious sunny day so we went to Dunham Massey – which is owned by the National Trust.  Dunham Massey  is a Georgian mansion, near Altrincham with a beautiful garden (including a walled rose garden) a deer park and a saw mill. It’s a wonderful place any time of year, lovely walks too and a lot to see.  As you’d expect from the National Trust, it’s got a couple of fine tea rooms and their cakes are great too.

Until 11 November 2015 Dunham Massey is Stamford Military Hospital where they have recreated the first world war hospital where over 300 soldiers recuperated from 1917-1919.  I’ve been twice – it’s a very powerful evocation of the soldiers’ situations, lives and illnesses recreated with actors.

*****

Come back again for the next instalment of my #100happydays challenge – it’s mostly about Lisbon

You can follow my photos for #100happydays challenge on twitter feed everyday (@becinmonton)

*****

Anyone around the world can get involved in #100happyday or just have a look for the hashtag or on facebook too.                                                                  

What has made you happy today?

Carpe Diem

19 thoughts on “From small things to big… acorns to oaks – being mindful helps

    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – it’s been a long journey but I’m getting there – my garden does make me so happy even in the depths of winter 🙂 I’ll be back to picking plants for vases again soon 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Eliza Waters

    Glad you’re getting back on track. I like the 100 happy days challenge – a great way to form the habit of grateful thinking. I, too, love my yoga – couldn’t garden without it!
    My happy day: walking up the hill with my hubby and dog to see the moonlight across the valley. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Bec Post author

      Thank you – it’s been a long journey but I think I’m getting there. Sounds like your walk was lovely – I’m enjoying the #100happydays challenge and I think it’s helping me – and hopefully more yoga too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 6-13 – Lisbon | Views from my garden bench

  3. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 14-20 food, music, Victoria baths | Views from my garden bench

  4. Pingback: #100happydays 21-28 challenge friends, food, drink flowers and yoda too | Views from my garden bench

  5. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 29-34 Deeds not words, inspiring women, love | Views from my garden bench

  6. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – dahlias still here! #100happydays | Views from my garden bench

  7. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 35-41 – Love, food, poetry, learning and travel | Views from my garden bench

  8. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – dahlias and happiness | Views from my garden bench

  9. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…. | Views from my garden bench

  10. Pingback: Christmas #100happy days surrounded by love and happy memories | Views from my garden bench

  11. Pingback: #100happydays Christmas Sunday – turkey and ham pie | Views from my garden bench

  12. Pingback: My 2016 – carry on (happiness and hope) | Views from my garden bench

  13. Pingback: #100happydays challenge 42-49 family, food and friends and adventures too | Views from my garden bench

  14. Pingback: #100happydays 50-54 Cottonopolis WI and Christmas too | Views from my garden bench

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.